In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old peoples where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

Who should be responsible for our old people?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Humans need special care when they grow up to the older age. In the recent past, it has been observed that elder people tend to live with their peers in centers designated for the senior residents. At times, governements have to afford their living. I believe it is a joint responsibility of family and state.

It is a matter of fact that senior family members require more attention and support. They have earned this by supporting their families or kids when they were younger. However, with this fast moving and busy world, it is sometimes not possible for the family members to give them required time. However, it is still the responsibility of the family to pay back to their elder family members by supporting financially and by being kind with them. In the older age, it is quite essential to have love and respect from your younger members of family.

On the other hand, it is also a responsibility of state to offer due support for the senior citizens. Most of the people pay tax for their whole professional career and they profoundly deserve a return. Even if they are living with their families, state should offer a handsome amount of pension for everyone above the age of 65. This will bring sense of independence amongst them, and they will continue to play their positive part in the society.

In the conclusion, I would argue that it has been witnessed that the elder people tend to live in specialized centers where they are being provided with the due care from the staff. In some cases, government is funding these centers. However, I believe it is the combine responsibility of family members and the govenments to make sure the well being of elder members of society.