Car-ownership has increased enormously. Is this good for traffic jam. What are the measures to be taken by government.

In today's world we all experience more traffic jams than what was seen some 15 years back. Many people believe that it is due to rapidly increasing number of people who own cars. On the contrary, we also have giant car selling companies such as Maruthi and Honda, which reported loss and decrease in Car sales.

If you ask any youngster on his plan, you will hear them saying they want to get job, then buy a care and then a flat and then get married. This clearly indicates that car ownership is considered as a dream which is not very far from achieving. People also developed new hobbies to go for long drives, travel to far of places by own cars. All such hobbies did not exist 30 years back. So, once upon a time having a car was a status symbol. But now it is a mandate. Government should restrict car sales by increasing their prices and motivate people to use public transport. This method is followed in Singapore. This can cut down traffic jam enormously leading to less environmental pollution.

We also having some sets of people who do not want to own a car, as they want to rely on alternative modes of transportation such as Trains, buses, Autos. Some people also are comfortable to use shared rental cars from mobile using Ola or Uber. Using these mobile App is having many benefits such as, they are economical, we no longer have to worry about car maintenance, they also have features such as SOS, which makes women feel more secured.

Considering all above aspects, I do not see any need to own a car. I am more in favor of using public transport, which is good for my pocket and good for environment.