Caring for children is probably the most important job in any society. Because of this, all mothers and fathers should be required to take a course that prepares them to be good parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Parenting is a heavy responsibility that every parent is required to shoulder. However, to make every prospective parent undertake a course on parenthood does not seem to be a practical idea.

Firstly, not all expecting couple would be willing to attend such a course, given their hectic schedules. It could turn out to be a painful exercise for them and eventually may not learn anything out it due to lack of enthusiasm. Secondly, even if fathers and mothers are willing and able to attend such lessons, they may not agree with the methodology or the approach taught due to differences of opinion. In reality, it would be extremely difficult to prepare a content which suits everyone.

Lastly, I believe, that parenting is a skill that one learns with experience and through family, friends, society and the surrounding culture. Most people tend to become better parents by learning through their own mistakes, using trial and error approach and by understanding the requirements of their child. For instance, a couple may expose their child to different experiences to understand what makes them happy and what cranks them up. This is something that one cannot learn in a taught course.

In conclusion, in my view, forcing parents to attend mandatory lessons on parenthood is not only unnecessary but would most likely end up being a futile exercise.