All parents want the best opportunity for their children. There are some people who think schools should teach children skills but others think having a huge range of subjects is better for a child's future. Discuss both sides and give your opinion?

Everyone considers schools as the most preferred institution for learning and overall development of a child. However, there are some who believe that the learning at schools should be skill-based, whereas, others prefer schools to focus on subjects for the development of their children.

Skills play an important role in a child's future. Being skilled in a particular activity can be pursued as a carrier path. However, skills can also be taught at home by parents who possess knowledge of basic skill-sets. For example, a musician can tech his child the basics of music. But teaching subjects can prove to be a difficult task for the parents. For instance, it would be difficult for a musician to take a subject like physics or mathematics as they may lack the in-depth knowledge required to teach the subject.

Schools, on the other hand, are better equipped to deal with a range of subjects as they have specialized teachers for each subject. Further, there are certain elements of learning which can only be covered through subjects such as history, science and technology, amongst others. Although, the schools should also focus on extra-curricular activities such as sports, paintings etc. as they can provide better infrastructure for such activities.

Accordingly, in my opinion, the learning institutions should ideally focus on a balanced approach between subjects and skill-based learning and let the children decide for themselves the best course for their future development.