In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are the advantages and disadvantages of renting a home?

Nowadays, leasing a house has become the preferred option amongst majority of people as opposed to buying one. While renting an accomodation has several benefits, it has its own limitations as well.

The biggest advantage of renting a property is the flexibility it provides not only in monetary terms but also the ability to switch over at any time. Most cities today offer a plethora of renting options, therby, allowing an individual to choose one according to his/her preferences such as budget, proximity to work or public transportation system etc. Leasing is especially advantageous for those who have rotational jobs and are required to change location every few years. They can easily vactate the premises at any time, without the worry of having huge sums of money blocked had they bought one. Another, small but important benefit of renting is that the maintenance of the house is owner's responsibility, thereby, reliving the occupants from the hassle of repairing the routine wear and tear of the house.

However, renting has its own shortcomings as well. Landlords often impose several restrictions on the tenants in terms of use of the property. As a result, for most occupants, a rented accomodation is just a place to live and not a home. Moreover, under renting, one is always living under the behest of the owner, who can ask to vacate the premises anytime if things go awry, thereby, putting the occupants in a difficult position.

As discussed above, renting comes with its own sets of advantages and limitations. But a person's preference to lease-out or buy depends on his/her personal circumstances and requirements.