Certain personal qualities cannot be achieved through university studies ?

Do you agree or disagree with this statement ?

It is believed by some people that essential personal traits is not possible to achieve at university. In my perspective, I agree with the statement and believe that certain vital attributes cannot be learnt by studying the academic curriculum at university.

There are multiple reasons to support my argument that university students are not able to achieve obvious personal traits. The first and the most compelling reason is certain necessary vital qualities can be learnt better by experience than gaining know-how at university. In other words, practical experience is more important and necessary for achieving some attributes than merely relying on books and academic curriculum, which is not taught at university. For instance, significant qualities like cooking, driving are equally important to learn which are not taught at universities but are equally important for students. As a result, the university passed out students are ignorant about these personal qualities.

Another argument against why university curriculum does not help students in achieving necessary personal attributes is too much concentration of curriculum on current job requirements. To be precise, universities these days focus only on those subjects which are required in today's job market rather than concentrating on the holistic development of students. For example, according to a recent survey in western India, 85% of engineering colleges do not teach young children about personal finance or money management; thus, students cannot learn about vital personal qualities.

However, the other side that argues that university caters students to achieve personal traits should not be overlooked. University students do learn some important traits such as coordinating in a team, time management and stress management. These skills are important and students learn them in vivid ways at university.

In conclusion, although some of the personal traits can be achieved by studying at university, most of the vital attributes such as how to cook, drive, and money management which are equally essential to succeed in life, cannot be equipped by studying university subjects.