Children are influenced by their friend’s opinions. In what ways are children affected by their friends?

How can parents make sure this influence is positive?

Human beings’ perception and mindset have always been affected by people who surround them. Children experience influence by the ideas and viewpoints of their friends. Close friends tend to impose their wishes and goals on each on another. Therefore, parents are to monitor who their offspring communicate with.

Individuals exchange their ideas with their circle of friends and youngsters are no exception. Sometimes being exposed to other people’s views and ideology can entail catastrophic consequences. This means that if children devote too much time to their friends they are prone to contract harmful and toxic mentality. Hence the negative seeds derived from the children’s friends may be planted into a child’s brain, which in its turn can undermine their life. For example, according to Russian University of Criminology most of juvenile delinquency is perpetrated after some significant influence by other people. In other words, constant interaction with adverse social elements leads to serious outcomes.

Parents’ primary responsibility is to ensure their children are safe not only physically, buy also mentally. Proceeding from this, it may be beneficial to learn about their offspring’s social circle. Moreover, children are considered to lack maturity in the process of selecting their friends. In other words, due to insufficient life and interrelation experience children ought to share the most vital information with their mothers and fathers. However, parents should not be strict towards their children while approving the latter’s friend list.

In conclusion, owing to the nature of humans, we are extremely susceptible to the thoughts of others. Furthermore, children come under influence especially severe. Therefore, the main duty of parents is to control and check persons who their children make friends with.