One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing.

Do you think advantages of this outweigh disadvantages?

Modern scientific advances have drastically altered human beings’ way of life. Medical breakthroughs in healthcare result in the fact that individuals’ life expectancy is rapidly growing. Although rise in a lifespan may pose a potential threat on people’s wellbeing in the long run, I strongly agree that being able to live longer enables humanity to be better off.

On the one hand, as life expectancy frontiers have been pushed, one ought to accept the fact that overpopulation is considered a major problem. This means that countries are likely to encounter the depletion of crucial resources and food scarcity due to rise in population. Moreover, not only can the authorities face the moral dilemma of shrinking the number of people by restricting the birth rate, but also executing the living people. For example, the leitmotivs of hunger and annihilation may be in modern anti-utopia books, which some people believe not far from the truth. In other words, uncontrolled birth along with unlimited life entail serious threats to the society of future.

On the other hand, the ability to possess an internal life provides boons to humans and the community at whole. Being granted an opportunity to exist beyond the traditionally given period, people will open abundance of opportunities for themselves. This is because an unrestricted dwelling aids to realise an individual’s full potential, since in today’s world people are confined to the earthly life span. For instance, one can imagine the scope of scientific advancements which may be discovered and invented to improve the lives of the society. Thus, the possibility to live longer assists humanity with a huge number of benefits.

To conclude, despite the fact that extended or even endless life may cause problems with overpopulation, I am convinced that advantages of such a phenomenon will surely benefit the community.