Some people think that it is important to let children act independently and make their own decisions from an early age.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this?

The question of a degree of interference into a child’s life by their parents has always been controversial in many societies. It is argued that letting offspring behave with entire independence as well as make self-planned decisions from their childhood is crucial. I totally disagree with this statement and believe that children are not capable of undertaking vital decisions and they should rely on their mothers and fathers.

Firstly, youngsters can make mistakes due to lack of life experience. This means that a mature person is an individual who has already experienced blacks and whites of this world. Therefore, it is impossible to regard a child as a mature human being, since they have not existed for a sufficient amount of time, when they would have been considered skilled and experienced. For example, according to Moscow State University the majority of people reach their maturity at the age of 25. In other words, children under 18 do not possess an abundance of expertise in regards to life around them.

Secondly, children’s susceptibility to adverse influence should not be underestimated. This is because being young entails psychological difficulties regarding their perception of role models and leaders. Moreover, young people can be prone to commit crimes owing to the fact of their knowledge of the legislation is limited. Similar facts and concepts usually visit their heads only after gaining some maturity. Thus, protecting children from negative impacts is considered paramount for each parent.

In conclusion, I completely disagree with the idea of an increased potential degree of children’s independence because it can lead to indecisive pitfalls that can be exorbitantly expensive for their future.