Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that capital punishment is unacceptable in contemporary society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The attitude towards fair justice for offenders has always been controversial in all the societies. Some people find harsh punishment acceptable for major offenders, while others argue that death penalty is considered as a legal inadmissible measure in the modern world. Although, death sentence is a sound crime prevention measure, I believe that executing human beings is unacceptable due to potential errors or bias.

On the one hand, the death sentence as a harsh punishment is an effective incentive not to commit crimes. This is because fear of death is inherent in any living being, forcing people to think carefully over their actions in order to save life. Proceeding from this, a complete rejection of the death penalty means a rejection of crime prevention. For example, according to a worldwide database, it is known that the crime rate in China is lower than in Germany, where the executing is prohibited. In other words, sentencing major offenders to death has a direct impact on reducing delinquency.

On the other hand, there is a possibility that an innocent person can be sentenced to death. This means that the judicial system is not immune to error due to the fact that people, by their nature, are prone to make mistakes. Therefore, such a harsh punishment is a potential murder by the court, equating judges with the cruel offenders. For instance, according to Washington Post article, the Supreme Court made 120 mistakes during the year, which led to 27 innocent executions. Thus, since the mistakes of refereeing can lead to the death of ungilt people, death as a punishment is unacceptable in modern society.

In conclusion, although people are less likely to break the law on fear of death, I believe that as long as there are imperfections in the court and human nature, execution cannot be an acceptable punishment.