Children are now less active in their free time than in the past. Therefore, sports lessons must be compulsory in schools. To what extend do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an evidence that these days, children spend their leisure time in a passive way rather than in the past. For this reason, sports lessons must be included into the schedule of schools. I agree with this statement and in this essay I am going to give reasons and examples to support my point of view.

With the development of technology and science, most children spend their free time by watching TV or playing computer games. As a result, it has a bad effect on their health, following serious illnesses, such as heart disease or obesity as children get older. If physical exercises are obligatory at schools for all children, the government do not have to spend a lot of money on medical care in the future. Despite of this government should improve and create more sports facilities and areas for young generation to prevent this issue in the following years.

However, some people assume that sports lessons are a waste of time and that kids must only focus on their academic studies. I am sure that this viewpoint is wrong because it has a number of benefits. For example, by attending physical exercise programs children who are obese or children with reduced physical activity can improve their mental well-being. Additionally, sports lessons help children to learn discipline and working with others as a team, which ameliorates social skills and ability to work in a team.

To sum up, it is necessary to involve physical education into the plan of every school in order to have vigorous and healthy young generation in the future.