Children should not be forced to develop good penmanship since computers and other mobile devices have done away with the need for having good handwriting. What are your views on the subject?

It is considered by many that compelling children to learn the skill of writing is not necessary in today’s era due to technological advancements, such as computers and smart phones, they have to physically write less or not at all. I, however, do not concur with this assertion, and the reasons will be discussed now.

The primary reason to good penmanship is the development of hand muscles. When children spend countless hours practicing to write, it not only leads to acquiring a skill but also strengthen their wrists and fingers. It is imperative to have a strong grip to be proficient in motor skills in their adult life. Another reason is related to psychological effects. When children see their neat and clean writing, they seem to feel that they have accomplished something in life. In other words, having impeccable penmanship motivates children to work harder to reach success. Lastly, writing is an integral part of human world as typing has not completely taken over writing. There are various instances, namely filling legal forms or writing tests, where everyone is required to write. If children are not taught to write, they may face problems later in life.

By contrast, some people argue, it is undeniable fact that nowadays people do not write as much as they did in earlier times, because most of the contemporary work is digitalized and online, which largely requires one to type on a keyboard. So, children learning to write and developing a neat handwriting is a waste of time. However, they fail to understand that writing is an indispensable part of developing a proper understanding of languages. A poor handwriting is equal to speech impairment.

In conclusion, although some feel that it is not important for children to learn writing on paper, we cannot overlook the tradition of writing because it has been a part of human life ever since its interception. In my opinion, every children should practice to improve their handwriting since the benefits accrued from it are by no means negligible.