Many claim that the fast food industry had a negative effect on the environment, eating habits, and families.

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is claimed by many people that the culture of eating junk food has had an injurious impact on the ecosystem, dietary pattern and personal relationships. I agree with the statement for some compelling reasons that will be elaborated on in the forthcoming paragraphs.

It is nearly irrefutable to say that the fast food sector creates inorbitant amount of waste, since they usually pack their products in use and throw packaging. It has been estimated that a significant number of the global trash comes from this industry itself. Also, to produce these packing materials, countless number of trees are cut down, resulting in deforestation. When the natural habitats of flora and fauna are destructed on a large scale, many species are driven on the brink of extinction. This leads to an imbalance in our fragile ecosystem and is deleterious to biodiversity.

Furthermore, the fast food is convenient and readily available. Contemporary society leads a busy and hectic lifestyle. They rely heavily on the fast food because they hardly have any time to cook homemade meals. Besides this, the fast food is not only easy to purchase but also delicious, making it go to meals for younger generations. People eschewing vegetables and fresh fruits to eating empty calories have harmful effects on their health and may cause health issues, such as diabetes, hypertension, and heart ailments, in the long run.

Lastly, people are giving up family time to eat junk food. Traditionally family members would sit down and have meals together discussing various happening of the day and share details. This family time has been replaced with people eating junk food by own. The more families spend less time together, the more likely they will grow apart.

To conclude, based on the aforemention reasons it can be justified that the fast food industry has had a deterimental effect on our mother nature, eating habits, and family time. Therefore, there are no significant benefits accruing from consuming fast food. People should try to limit the junk food consumption to eradicate the negative effect so some extent.