Children in some parts of the world have less responsibility compared to children in the past. Some people think this as a positive change; however, others think of it as a negative change.

What do you think?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Children are the future generation of the country and if parents sow the seed of good and responsible behaviour, they will reap the benefits in the future. The younger generation in today’s world is shouldered with duties than in bygone days. Although, some denizens believe it to be an optimistic trend, others consider it to be a pessimistic trend. This essay will argue the importance of giving responsibilities to the youngster so that they can build a successful future.

To embark on, In the modern world minors are not burdened with the duties or the urge to earn money to meet the necessities for their family members. Some parents consider it to be advantageous as in this way a child will be able to enjoy their childhood to the fullest free from the worldly worries. For example, a recent report in the UK shows that a happy childhood with no duties and tension plays a pivotal role in shaping the personality and future of a child. Moreover, parents have an opinion that a child should focus more on his academic education and other co-curricular activities which will contribute to building their strong career than just by giving tasks and duties. For instance, by getting a comprehensive education qualification a child will be able to get a high-quality job with a decent salary.

On the contrary, not teaching young one the need and importance of responsible behaviour will eventually lead to a laid-back attitude. They will not be aware of the harsh realities of the world nor they will have a seriousness towards anything. To illustrate, if a child is served everything on a platter he will never have the value for money or the hard work done to earn the money. Furthermore, without any responsibilities or teaching the difference between good and bad behaviour the younger ones will go in the wrong direction or will get in the wrong company. For example, in the USA more than 25% of children become drug addicts as they are not taught to be responsible at a very early age.

To conclude, I strongly agree that a child if made accountable for the duties and responsibilities by the family members will excel in the future economically, socially, financially and ethically.