Children these days spend more time watching TV compared to past years. Discuss advantages & disadvantages.

Television is one of the most important means of entertainment. There are varied shows catering to the likings of people from different age groups. Over a period of time, it has been observed children are spending more time viewing their favourite channels in comparison to yester years. We will hereby, discuss the pros and cons of spending long hours over television.

One of the beneficial use of television is to develop the intellectual skills and imbibe knowledge based learnings amongst the younger generation. To exemplify, in India children are love watching Bournvita quiz contest which hosts to test the intelligence level of the students from different schools and colleges. Channels such as Discovery & National Geography helps the spectators to learn about new discoveries, creations and lead as innovators. They even provide details about the biodiversity as well as cultural heritage of different places.

However, the above benefits cannot eclipse the detrimental impact it has on physical development as well as mental growth at an early age, since, children would avoid being involved in outdoor activities. As such, development of cognitive and interpersonal skills would also be adversely affected. Exposing children towards violence and menace over television can promote disharmony and promote unethical practices. Studies have shown children who are less involved in extra -curricular activities are prone to suffer from obesity, issues with eyesight, back aches as well as deformed physical growth from childhood.

To conclude, it is important to monitor the amount of time spend along with the content viewed by kids. This will help to use the tool in an effective manner thereby mentoring and coaching the children in an appropriate direction.