As computers translate quickly and accurately, learning foreign languages is a waste of time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advances made in the language translation technology, it is very easy to translate text from one language to the other. Due to the ready availability of such applications, some people believe that learning foreign languages is unnecessary. This essay will argue why the notion that learning foreign languages has become irrelevant should be completely dismissed.

Many companies are seeing benefits in using computers to translate large volumes of content into different languages. It saves money for them as they don’t have to hire humans for each language. Also, they’ve found that it is more efficient to use computers as they can get more work done each day than with a human. Recent studies have shown that global companies with a need to maintain their documentation in various languages have used computers to good effect leading to significant cost savings. These benefits have led people to believe that use of computers to translate languages is a good alternative to learning foreign languages.

Despite the efficiency and cost saving, there are certain limitations to computer based translations due to which the argument against learning foreign languages should be completely dismissed. A computer software may not be able to translate literature as accurately as other non-literary works. Moreover, when interacting with locals in a foreign country, a person needs to have spontaneous verbal skills and a translator is more likely to let us down. For instance, literary masterpieces from Shakespeare would be a disaster in a non-English language if the translation is done by a computer. Also, many European countries only deal with businesses that speak the local language. Therefore, computers should be used an aid to using a foreign language and cannot completely replace the learning of foreign languages.

This essay argued that the people who think that people no longer need to learn foreign languages as computers can easily translate languages don’t have a complete understanding of the limitations of computer translation softwares. In my opinion, it is absolutely necessary to learn foreign languages and computer based translations should be used to assist such learning and not completely replace it.