News stories on TV and in a newspaper are often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;white-space:pre;white-space:pre-wrap;">tv channels and newspapers have started adding pictures to their news reports to get the attention of their subscribers. it is often argued that adding pictures makes the news article more effective. Although written or spoken text provides more details about any event, I feel images add a visual narrative and help the reader or viewer connect better with what is written.

text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;white-space:pre;white-space:pre-wrap;">A lot of information about an event can be narrated via printed text or by a news anchor. We can get specific details of the event like when it happened, how it happened, who were involved etc. to help us get a very good understanding of the event. For instance, Intricate details and chronology of the recent high profile murder case in Kottayam were available in the newspapers and tv channels and this allowed people to understand what really happened. thus, text and speech are very powerful medium to convey new but pictures provide an additional dimension to the event being covered.

text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;white-space:pre;white-space:pre-wrap;">Humans have an intrinsic tendency of wanting to see what happened in additional to what they’ve heard or read. Without pictures, news articles could just be a bunch of information that some people may find it hard to piece together. Many people also may not want to read through all the details and may want to just look at a pictorial representation of the event which will give them a summary of what happened. Taking the example of the high profile murder case I mentioned above, newpapers and channels added images detailing how the murderer broken in to the house, made the get away and traced the route taken by the murderer during his escape. thus, having pictures enrich the news article and make it more comprehensible for the general public.

text-decoration:none;vertical-align:baseline;white-space:pre;white-space:pre-wrap;">pictures serve to make news articles more interesting and comprehensible to the general public. For that reason, I agree with the argument that adding pictures makes new events more powerful than if they were presented as just plain text or speech.