News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures.

Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words.

What is your opinion about this?

Publishing photos in newspapers or on TV are very popular since our grandparents time because pictures are more appealing while reading or watching the news. Certainly, it expresses more clarity on people expressions, however, it does not depict the feelings of the publishers. Therefore, words are more important than snapshots.

On the one hand, where online media are gaining popularity, and more numbers of news channels are being subscribed to by the users; it is certainly because of the popularity of watching pictures or videos to save time by them. Nowadays, people do not have much time to read the news or watch TV because of their busy and hectic time schedules. In such cases, most people like to watch pictures or videos to gain a full understanding of headlines in a short time. For instance, the young generation like to follow the fashion style of many B-town celebrities. For this reason, they like to see pictures in Page-3 of newspapers or magazines.

On the other hand, where pictures are helpful to understand the gestures and expressions of the person being published in the news, words are more effective to understand the whole matter. Words are always effective to communicate the feelings and expressions of any person at their best. There are no substitutes for words even though whatever numbers of pictures we use to express the same feelings.

For example, in the year 2007, in a fashion show, a wardrobe malfunction happened. However, when we read the newspaper the next day, we came to know that that was happened intentionally by the model. She was wishing for some popularity, and she successfully achieved the same by doing that. As a result, words have more impact to get to know the full matter.

To conclude, pictures are mostly followed by the young generation to adopt the unique fashion done by their favourite celebrities. It is also helpful to those, who do not have much time to read the full articles. However, pictures are not always helpful in explaining the main agenda behind the news. it is words, which provide a full report on every matter after fact checks. Also, it always provides the power to the writer to strongly express the feelings and emotions.