The growth of online shopping will one day lead to all shops in towns and cities closing. Do you agree or disagree?

Growing online shopping, certainly, is in demand, nowadays. However, it will shut all shops in towns and cities at some point in time is conservative to say. In my opinion, despite its increasing popularity, a few shops will still survive to meet the needs of digitally illiterate people.

On the one hand, online shopping not only provides great flexibility to shop at any time, but it also saves a huge amount of money. One can utilise his spare time, and do shopping sitting in a comfort zone of home atmosphere. For example, house makers, especially with young kids, who does not find time to go out because of their newborn special care; for such a group of people, online shopping does wonder. It saves time as well as the cost at the ease of their fingertips.

On the other hand, saying that it will be responsible for shutting all the physical outlets in near future is not a right statement to make because the traditional shops are the only way of shopping for digitally illiterate people, who do not know to shop online on mobiles or computers. In addition to this, many people do not prefer online shopping because it does not provide a chance for the users to feel and touch the materials. Sometimes, it looks good on websites, but in actuality, it's not always the same as expected or shown in the pictures online. In such cases, physical shops provide a great variety of choices; one can choose the right fit, look, colour, and material in a short period. For instance, once I bought twenty items online, out of those, I returned fifteen items because of their size in material issues, and later I regretted my decision of preferring online shopping over conventional shopping.

To conclude, there is no doubt that online shopping has gained much more attention in the past few years. Although it saves a tremendous amount of money and gives a flexible shopping time, in my view, it could not replace the original concept of traditional shopping in long run because of the low digital literacy rate in certain groups of people to run an online shopping site and no physical feel of materials and textures.