Some people say that in all levels of education, from Primary School to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Teaching theories and hard skills by the education system is very commonly known since we were young. It is also mistaken by some that the education institutes are not engaging us in learning practical skills, such as sports, or soft skills. I formerly disagree with the letter viewpoint.

To begin with, gone are those days, when universities were only focusing on hard skills of subjects, such as science, politics and history because, in today's era, practical skills are equally important to learn, and hence, schools have started to introduce them. Nowadays, a growing number of tertiary educations are concentrating on soft skills, namely behaviour communication and leadership skills. For example, recently my younger sister's school has started to arrange a workshop on soft skills every weekend. It will certainly enhance and boost the confidence of future workers.

Furthermore, learning practical aspects is very crucial in day to day life, as it adds numerous advantages to the careers; playing sports or managing financial savings to name a few. Many sports legends are live examples for choosing practical skills, mainly sports, over learning facts or theories; and it would not be possible without the help of schools and universities, where they have studied. To further illustrate, I started to manage my finance, when I started earning, and it would not happen if I were not taught of it in my graduation.

To conclude, it is true that a decade ago educational Institutes were only organised for the subjects. However, currently, an increasing number of schools and universities are realising the benefits of practical skills, thus generating more future leaders. At present, the education system helps to choose a career based either on practical or theories.