It is often said that governments spend too much money on projects to protect wildlife, while there are other problems that are more important. Do you agree or disagree?

Wildlife conservation has always been a topic of fiery debate. It is argued that the government has been allocating more funds than necessary towards wildlife sanctuaries, ignoring other hot topics affecting their citizens like poverty and education. While acknowledging the fact that authorities should set aside funds to address such issues, I totally dismiss the notion that such expenses should be covered from money that has been earmarked for conserving our forests and its inhabitants.

Lack of nutritious food and access to education are two of the common issues that have plagued our society. The authorities typically run short of enough money to ensure that these basic needs of the society are met adequately. Moreover, they usually don’t have access to excess funds from other departments like the forestry department. Studies have shown that many poor countries in Africa have exorbitant money allocated towards the preservation of wild animals while its citizens suffer from poverty. This has led people to question why there is a need to spend on safeguarding and breeding animals at the expense of suffering human beings.

Rapid growth of urban cities and rural towns have led to the dwindling area of natural habitats for wild animals. To facilitate their expansion and growth, there has been massive deforestation causing animals to be shut out of their natural habitat. This has led to the extinction of many species not able to adapt to their changing surrounding. Many species of birds and animals have already gone extinct in the last century and many varieties of tigers and birds are on the verge of extinction. Therefore, in order to preserve our animals, it is of paramount importance to invest in sanctuaries where the endangered species can survive and thrive.

To conclude, as responsible citizens of this generation, we have a duty to ensure that we prevent the extinction of animals on our watch and ensure their availability for future generations. Despite the many genuine concerns affecting citizens that the governments should look into and find solutions for, there is no doubt in my mind that there shouldn’t be any reduction in the monetary allocations geared at conserving our wildlife.