Some people think that books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree.

The relevance of books in this age of computers is up for debate. The convenience and ease with which unlimited amounts of information can be accessed over the internet has led some people to feel that books have lost their utility nowadays. I strongly concur with this group of people as I feel there are many other alternatives to books which offer a more pleasurable, if not the same, level of reading experience and more current information.

Books have long been the traditional way of disbursing knowledge and entertainment. Before the advent of the Internet, books were the only way of transmitting information. The majority of the schools still use books to teach children and very few schools have actually transitioned to online mode of education in a limited way. Books still are essential but its importance is being eroded due to the availability of the same content as e-books.

Majority of the people are turning to e-reading. They like the convenience this offers as they have a wide array of content available at their fingertips and sometimes at a much discounted price than they would have had to pay if they were to purchase a book at a store. Moreover, they don’t need to find space in their homes to store the books as everything is saved online. Online stores like Amazon offer a vast selection of fiction and non-fiction content for its subscribers. Thus, e-books are becoming the preferred mode of reading for most people.

To conclude, the argument that books are losing its importance in the current era where everything is available online has its merit. I strongly feel the replacement of books with their online version is imminent though we would still find that some areas like schools may still choose to conduct their teaching through books.