It is often said that the government spends too much money on projects to protect wildlife, while there are other problems that are more important.

Do you agree or disagree?

In recent times, the flora and fauna has been badly affected due to human activities and industrial development. Some people opine that the investment in preserving wildlife by the governments should be redirected to deal with other social causes that are persisting in the world. I, however, have an opposing perspective that the money spent on the protection of plants and animals to ensure a sustainable life on earth is beneficial for mankind.

To begin with, the destruction of forests has led to a plethora of environmental problems. This is because a vast array of plants and vegetation are vital for the food chain. Besides, biodiversity is imperative for the natural sustainability of the ecosystem. The cutting of forests, for example, is the major reason for issues such as land degradation, soil erosion, climate change, and an increase of carbon content in the air. The direct and indirect effects of these problems are responsible for several social challenges faced by humans. For instance, due to alleviated supply of food and ameliorated diseases, many countries are in debt and fighting with economic as well as social challenges. Therefore, it is far better to spend money on preserving plants than facing poverty because of the repercussions of not saving it.

Furthermore, just as much as plants, wild animals are also important for the ecosystem. The protection of endangered species by establishing wildlife sanctuaries and natural parks would be advantageous in creating employment opportunities for people. To exemplify, a recent report by the Economic Times shows that conservation parks and wildlife reserves offer employment to some sections of the society. Moreover, the local wildlife could also be a tourist attraction, thus benefiting the tourism industry.

Having seen the above points, it can be concluded that conserving Mother Nature is equally important for humankind as it provides various merits concerning the economic and social aspects of any country. So, the funding by the government for environmental causes is definitely required.