Consumer goods have become the most important of people's lives.Do advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

In a world which is increasingly becoming materialistic, success is measured by the materials and bank balance one has accumulated. In the quest to win the rat race, people have forgotten about human ethics and values which could have long-lasting effects on the society. While these things come with a lot of virtues, the iniquity can not be ignored.

Firstly, consumer products add convenience and comfort to peoples' lives which are a key driver for many to earn an extra bonus or surplus money. For example, people enjoy watching their favorite programs on their expensive, giant television sets. Moreover, it adds to people's social status as they can flaunt their high-priced merchandise and cars to others.

On the other side, people forget their moral and human values as they turned materialistic. They do not give any importance to relations. They alienate from social gatherings and find solace in the company of gadgets. With no one to discuss on matters of work and life, such people get stressed and suffer from psychological problems and end up getting into unethical activities.

Undoubtedly, humanity does not teach to live with machines or spend earnings on physical goods and doing so, will have more problems than solutions. It will be advisable that people improve their social interaction by reducing time with gadgets and having work-life balance.