The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time.

What are the causes of this continued rise?

Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

It has been argued that the most serious challenge encountered by humanity recently is the continuous growth of the world's population. While uncontrolled birth and culture are the major contributors to the rise in the number of people on earth, this essay disagrees that the greatest challenge faced by the human being is the continued rise in world's population. Firstly, this essay will discuss the unregulated birth rate and culture as important causes for the growth and secondly, it will state the reason why the continued rise in earth's population is not a grievous challenge.

Uncontrolled birth rate and culture are the main causes of continuous increase in population globally. In some part of the world, birth rate is not regulated either by government or family. In other words, people have unprotected sex and do not use family planning methods such as contraceptives and condoms. This has increased the pregnancy rate and invariably increased the number of babies born. What is more, some cultures encourage polygamy. In this situation, one man can marry as many wives as he wanted. This result in an increase in the number of children a family can have and this leads to a growth in population. The recent survey by Queen's University has attributed the increase in population in Africa to their polygamous culture.

However, continued growth in the world's population is not the worst problem by human beings at present time. Unlike pollution which has posed a serious threat to humanity because human beings are still battling with its control, the world's population growth can be controlled. This could be achieved through education and strict government's policies on childbirth. For example, the Chinese government has recently come up with a law that you can only reproduce yourself. This means that a couple can only have two children. The policy has a great effect on the control of the population in China.

In conclusion, although the world's population is considered the worst problem faced by humanity recently, this is not true. Unlike other more dangerous problems such as pollution, continued growth in earth's population can be checked.