Crime rate in most countries is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas. Why do you think that it is? What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Now as in the past, crime has been a remarkable problem in society. Nowadays, in some nations, crime levels in the city areas are quite high in comparison to the countryside. I strongly believe this problem is the product of the high population numbers and its culture's diversity. In this essay, I will explain the causes of high levels of crime in cities in contrast to the rural side and I will suggest what could be done to reduce these crime numbers.

First of all, the large numbers of population in urban areas make people feel indifferent to the neighbours because it's pretty hard to know everyone in the city when you are walking through hundreds of new faces, that is why folks do not care about each other. Furthermore, thousands of people from other regions are coming to live in urban areas and many of them do not care about locals and they feel free to hurt the city and its people. For instance, research from UTA University found that 80% of the criminals cached in Miami are not originally from that city and similar results were found around the USA. However, rural areas are affected by crime, but the population numbers are not its problem.

On the other hand, the countryside is affected by crime but at lower levels, in fact, because of the low population numbers, people know each other and they care about their neighbours, that link makes a more efficient security system than in cities where the city council needs to look forward thousands of people each second. A clear example is the police presence in rural sides, they are not numerous squads of policemen because surely if a treat or a violent episode occurs in the area, people are going to call them immediately.

In conclusion, urban areas have high rates of crime because of the population's indifference, caused by the plethora of people living in the sector. I believe the government has to invest more in security schemes like surveillance cameras and more robust policemen squads, to mitigate the levels of crime in urban areas.