In general, people do not have such a close relationship with their neighbours as they did in the past. Why this so, and what can be done to improve contact between neighbours?

In the past, neighbourhood members had friendlier and closer relationships with other members than now, this could happen for reasons that society's evolution has brought to our current lifestyle. In this essay, I will expose some reasons why this is happening also some solutions to improve this weak relationship between neighbours.

Firstly, if we talk about the reasons why people are having a colder relationship with neighbours, is impossible to omit the effect that communications such as TV, radio and internet has over our current society, real and fake news makes people feeling unconfident with everyone around because unfortunately the majority of news is showed raw by media, this cause paranoia in community and the instinctive reaction is to avoid the contact with people around, in this specific case "contact with neighbours". Secondly, our current society has been having one of the most accelerated lifestyles in humanity's history, the day by day is going quick and busy. people now have very limited time to share with neighbours even tho, to share time with friends or families.

Hence, people have to make a stop in their rapid lives to try to meet new neighbours and improve contact with them, for instance, with the excuse to borrow any Item from your neighbour, you could start a little chat with them and that would be the first step to start to have empathy with them. In addition, the community could promote neighbourhood activities such as plant some trees or a cleaning campaign could motivate to talk to each other.

To conclude, the relationship between neighbours has been affected by the insecurity feeling created by media causing paranoia in society, and accelerated lives created by our rapid lifestyles. However, individuals should take the first step to have better contact with their neighbours, also the community could perform some activities to promote interaction between neighbourhood members.