Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

now as in the past public libraries have been a vital element in modern society, unfortunately, the maintenance of them is being considered a financial waste for the government due to current the technologies like the internet are supplying similar services to the community. I strongly agree with this viewpoint and in this essay, I will give my reasons.

Firstly, emerging technologies as the internet, virtual libraries, and digital books have been moving out old sources of information like physical books, newspapers and journals, because of their easy and quick accessibility, for instance, people could have access to the history of "Area 51" which was a highly restricted a decade ago, using simply a mobile phone from anywhere around the world. Furthermore, new technologies could supply more information than public libraries, but, that is not the only function of a public library in society.

However, public libraries are not only a source of information, but they are also more than that now. due to the emerging computer technologies, libraries have become part of our historical infrastructures, and a quiet place where people could go to study or read. for example, a survey made in Boston university displayed that many university students still prefer to go to the libraries to plan a design digital presentation, rather than make them in their own places. Hence, public libraries still have enormous value in our current society.

To conclude, despite the new technologies have displaced the public libraries as a source of information, it does not mean that public libraries do not have the importance for society as to be considered as a public waste of money, on the contrary, I truly believe, they are still giving to the society something that technology cannot supply yet, historical memory for the community and proper environment to study.