Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

It is true that virtual library play such an important role in modern life which can take over traditional one. While many people are in favour of this view, I think that keeping conventional library is vital for our life.

On the one hand, it is obvious that online library can replace some of functions of library and it has also many benefits. Firstly, without having to waste time on travelling to the library, people who want to read something or look for information can stay at home or anywhere where the internet connected. Furthermore, using the digital library instead of coming to traditional library might help readers to quickly collect a range of knowledge in terms of other fields they concern and easy keeping up to date of news all around the world by performing a click of mouse. This is because there is a great deal of information and documents on the internet which we might not find out on a conventional library.

On the other hand, we cannot deny that there are also several reasons for keeping public libraries. The first reason is that public library is an ordinary place for gathering people of community because people can see, talk to each other and enhance their relationship instead of only reading books. As a result, they will become closer and frequently help each other if anyone was in trouble. Moreover, traditional library always supplies reliable source information since the internet is a virtual world which can be the cause of much untrue information. That is why many people still choose the public library instead.

In conclusion, although the internet can alternate some responsibility of conventional library, I strongly believe that keeping public libraries do not squander money and it is really necessary for our life as well.