Crime rate, in most countries, is often higher in urban areas than in rural areas.

Why do you think that is?

What can be done to reduce the crime rate?

Crime is is one of common problem which world is facing these day. However it is seen that incidents of crime is are more that compared to rural areas. This essay will discuss why this is the cause and appropriate solutions that can alleviate this problem.

There are many reason of higher crime rates in cities than in villages. People living in cities have more stress level as compared to village dwellers. Because people in villages are more close to nature and use less technological gadget which increases frustration and dissatisfaction. So they lead more calm, positive attitude and satisfied life. In cities rich poor disparity is also one of the major cause of crime. Although there are many opportunity of employment in cities but still there are many people who are jobless or earn very less. By seeing lifestyle of effluent people they also aspire to live that life of luxury and status. Specially youth in cities very impulsive and impatient they want overnight success, power and fame Consequently, they sometimes they become so desperate about being successful they do not hesitate to adopt unethical means to become rich like burglary or even murder. Beside, consumption of drugs and alcoholic beverages is on higher side in metro cities which make people senseless and aggressive. They could not judge what is wrong and what is right in intoxication which result in ill mannered behavior.

However there are some steps that can reduce crime rates. Government should introduce strict laws for criminal that set an example that would act as deterrent to people. There is also need to increase control on substance abuse. Non-governmental organizations and the government should go hand in hand and conduct awareness programs among youth. Moreover, schools and families in cities should be conducive to the moral upbringing of youngsters. Hence, we can avoid them go astray and curtail a major cause for the growth of crime.

Concisely, controlling the population in cities by providing better employment opportunities in villages and regulating substance addiction will assist us in bringing down the crime in urban areas.