Despite the environmental concerns raised by scientists, people are not changing their life style.

Why so? What should be done to encourage the people in order to save environment?

It is true that nowadays people are unaware of their actions creating a negative impact on the environment. Although, I believe that individuals do not have enough knowledge about recycling and how to take care of our planet. In fact, governments could introduce laws and educational programs to teach people the importance of recycling on a daily basis.

In my opinion, lack of knowledge can affect how people take care of our planet. Firstly, educational programs could be introduced at schools to teach students how to recycle, and also what could be done to minimize pollution in our planet. For example, teaching children about global warming is a way to grow them up with the awareness of the problems and the solutions for it. In addition, homework regarding environmental issues could be given to set an example for parents to practice with their children at home. Secondly, human beings tend to do what is easier for them not changing poor habits. For instance, instead of cooperating people normally throw tons of garbage on the streets and do not recycle at home.

On the other hand, governments could implement rules and regulations together with recycling training in every neighborhood. In the first place, once rules are introduced the responsible officer would check and monitor if people are recycling correctly as it was taught in the training, in case rules are not being followed fines would be applied to the individuals that are not respecting the law. In fact, governments should do a public service announcement to influence people’s habits. Perhaps, if we do not recycle paper then every time we need more paper trees get chopped down and this process not only depletes our resources but it also destroys the natural habitats. Besides, a plastic bottle can take at least 450 years to decompose. This is to say, if people learn the importance of converting waste into reusable material, homeowners could start to segregate their trash at home, and also stop throwing garbage on the streets. As a result, these actions could lead to a clean, waste- free environment for everyone.

In conclusion, while people do not change poor habits due to convenience and lack of knowledge about global warming. Rules, regulations, campaigns, and training can be introduced in the neighborhoods. In the long run, the population can learn and understand the importance of recycling and how to take better care of our planet.