In developing countries, children in rural communities have less access to education. Some people believe that the problem can be solved by providing more schools and teachers, while others think that the problem can be solved by providing computers and Internet access. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Education for everyone today is gaining prominence globally. In developing countries however it is a fact that children in rural villages of these developing nations have limited access to education. There is a raging debate where some people suggest to solve this problem by providing more schools and teachers while others think that this problem can be eradicated by adaption of modern technology like computers and the internet. In the below, I will elucidate both the views and conclude it with my opinion.

Firstly in developing countries, there is a lack of basic education infrastructures like schools and qualified teachers in remote areas so a major focus on the improvement of basic infra requirements can aid to bring up the literacy levels. In a recent example, Central government in India launched an initiative for rural villages whereby they are focussing on building schools apart from this the children who belong to the financially weak background are given financial aid from the Indian government.

Secondly, others believe that modern technology like the internet and computers have a pivotal role to play in imparting quality education in the remotest corners. In the recent past distance education has gained paramount importance whereby many top universities are offering education through the internet to benefit masses in the underserved areas. But it can be noticed that the rural areas of the developing nations lack basic facilities and have no internet connectivity so it is of prime importance that the local government first creates basic infrastructure for modern technology to follow in tandem. In developing countries like Nigeria and Ghana the local government in building schools in various provinces which can be used by different universities to deliver their quality content through the internet and computers.

Thus in my opinion, as mentioned in the above paragraphs basic infrastructure is necessary for the rural areas before technology like the internet and computers can aid to better education.