With the development of social media, more and more youngsters are being allowed unsupervised access to the internet in order to meet and chat with friends which can lead to potentially dangerous situations. What solutions can you suggest to deal with this problem?

Due to the advent of social networking sites, an upward paradigm shift amongst young people, who prefer connecting with their peers over the world wide web, can be seen leading to many unforeseen circumstances. This essay sheds light on some solutions for the problem mentioned above.

First and the foremost, it is the prime responsibility of the parents to monitor the daily usage on the internet by their kids. Enlightening the young adults, about the potential drawbacks of chatting with strangers, need to be on top of their list while schooling them about social media. This way, they would be able to educate their pupils better, the pros as well as the cons of being visible on the networking world. Without proper guidance, it would be virtually impossible for a youngster to weigh between the good and evil. For example, in a recent survey, it was found out that the parents who are aware of the online activities of their children, find themselves in a much stronger position while educating the kids, than those who are unaware of the same.

A second way this problem can be met head-on would require total support from the companies who run these social networking sites, like Facebook, Whatsapp, Twitter. By making it their number one priority, the companies should focus on safeguarding its users, by implementing a mechanism which confirms the minimum legal age of the person registering on these websites. This way, it would protect the youth from the potential cybercriminals.

To conclude, by putting certain checks and conditions in place, it would be possible to safeguard the innocent young minds from falling into the clutches of online predators.