Portables devices have made it possible to work from home. Some people are in favour of this development wheras others have alternative views. In this essay, I will illustrate pros and cons of telecommuting with my objectivity.

To begin with, work from home, once a desirable thought of employees has become a reality in the modern world. Numerous benefits of it make it a popular choice these days. First and foremost importance lies in the fact that it provides flexibility in the working schedule. One doesnot need to follow a strict 9.00 am to 5.00 pm routine. Person can decide his working hours. Secondly, ommits the daily travel, especially, in metro cities daily commuters have to face lots of problems in the form of traffic jams and pollution. Facility to work from home can save them from this harrassment. Thirdly, it provides ample amount of time to the person to spend with family and nuture their children. As person remains at home, he can assit his partner in the home management.

On the flip side, working from home hampers the concentration of the person from the work. It is found that efficiency of the worker decreases when he tends to work from home. As, his mind is occupied by various other activities, he cannot devote himself properly to his job. Further, it disturbs the family balance. Stress of work makes the person self occupied all the time, deadlines of project add to his miseries. So, he could not be able to attend his family properly. Moreover, assistance of staff is not with him at home, whenever, he requires help he has to think alternatives for it which causes delay in his work.

In conclusion, after studying benefits and drawbacks, it is too early to adopt this culture. It cannot replace the office so for part time workers it may work, regular workers should attend the office, it will be beneficial for company as well as the employee.