Distance learning programmes are in trend. However, people think that this is a poor substitute for attending a university or college. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For many years education has played key role in individual development. But, In past few years distance learning has become popular and act as alternative to University or College education. I strongly disagree this fact and we will discuss same in this essay.

Firstly, studying remotely requires lots of self-discipline. For example, students enrolling for online course has to make sure they spend a predefined amount of time everyday and this is the most cumbersome task if students lacks self-motivation or is not interested. On the other hand, enrolling for University or College course put peer pressure on people to attend class regularly as per time-table everyday and this contributes to growth. To add more to this online or distant course cost's less compared to full-time course and this is again the driver for attending actual classes.

Secondly, students learning on their own are not socially good as interaction with other student is less which affects them intellectually as well. Contrary, those who attend colleges or university has lots of interaction with others on day-to-day basis which not only helps them in what they are studying but also develop good network and grow intellectually. This is really important as competition has grown a lot between people. For example, person who is studying alone at home may turn introvert as compared to other who is studying in college.

In conclusion, though distant learning seems lucrative as it is self-paced and economical. But, value it add as compared to full-time education is not so much.