Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People in the past are more interested in improving their neighborhood (the area where they live) than now.

The common fact that people in the past were more fond of ameliorating their neighborhood compared to the present time is one of the recent debates of today’s world. I personally hold the view that this is a valid assumption to make because of the particular conditions of past decades.

First and foremost, the people in the past were more attached to their local area than now. The particular societal norms of last century required the members of a local community to deepen their bonds with their neighbors and live dependently among them. Therefore, this lifestyle generated the sense of belonging to their area of living among local residents which fostered the tendency toward improving their residential area. When all the members of a neighborhood shouldered the responsibility to devote monetary recourses or physical contributions to their place of living, it created an epidemic synergic effect which ran through other parts of the city. Consequently, it became a conventional morality accepted by every member of a society.

More importantly, considering the industrialization era of the past century, governments were merely busy with developing their production capacities, thus they avoided to allocate adequate budgets to create or enhance acceptable and livable urban areas. Hence, there was no other alternative for local civilians but to burden this arduous task themselves. Since they had the desire to live more conveniently in their residential area, the idea of developing it grabbed their attention. My grandfather, for instance, were managed to establish the first retail store in their neighborhood. I clearly remember that he mentioned his intention of such decision was providing an easy access to life necessities for all local residents including his own family.

Taken together, I subscribe to the idea that people were more interested in improving their local area since the sense of attachment to the neighborhood were more strong in the past compared to the current period of time.