Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skill

It is a commonly held belief that there is an excessive emphesise on theories and facts in the different stages of education, compared to practical subjects. I strongly believe that this statement is true and the education system should be modified.

The most commonly cited reason why the focus on academical concepts is too much is the incapability of newly graduated students in putting their learnings into practice. It is widely known that most of these students require attending over-curriculum courses in order to find a proper job since their academical knowledge does not suffice for handling real-world tasks. It is also seen that the majority of young graduates pursuing professional careers are forced to work a particular amount of time without payment as on-the-job trainees so as to acquire the skills and experience needed for those careers. If learning theories and facts were enough, these individuals would not have to go through this stiff condition to be recruited.

More importantly, surviving the challenging life and roughly competitive job market of this modern world demands essential life skills which unfortunately lack in school or university curriculum. Beside learning highly complex scientific theories, students should be taught teamworking, instant decision-making, and crisis management which are all vital for dealing with their later-life obstacles. Individuals who are not capable of positive cooperation, creative thinking, or use their intuition for completing given objectives will be either constantly on the verge of redundancy or remained as a low-ranking employee for the rest of their lives. Such invaluable skills should be cultivated during school and upper-school period.

In conclusion, I firmly hold the view that education systems are focusing too much on academical subjects rather than practical skills, and this can threaten the pupils future as such skills are imperative for achieving prosperity.