do you agree or disagree with this statement? sometimes people think nowadays the media are less concern about the accuracy of news than in the past

In today’s world, media play an indispensable role in the society. This trend prompts a controversial issue of whether or not the accuracy of news is more reliable than what it used to be in the past. I adamantly subscribe to the idea that news is more precise than before.

First and foremost, media has become a competitive industry in the way that a fake news can have an irreversible impact on the broadcaster. As a matter of fact, since most of the people have constant access to the internet, if a particular news website or a newspaper publish a inaccurate news, people can easily surf the internet to realize the accuracy of it. Under such circumstance, followers of the website would not trust it anymore. On the other hand, the competitors of the website take advantage of this situation to publish a report which directly targets the website in order to attract more audience. Taken the latest news that I have found recently on a Farsnews as an example. The editor of the website published a report about gross domestic growth (GDP) of Iran economy in 2017 fiscal year. The publisher, however, turning a blind eye to the fact that people can readily find relevant data from various websites including Worldbank. The economic columnist of the website falsely propagated that GDP growth of Iran was under two percent but after visiting the Worldbank, I understood that growth of it in the given period is more than 6 percent. As a result of this inaccuracy, I would not follow this website anymore.

More importantly, there are various regulations have been introduced by governments which easily inhibit media from publishing false news. There are various sophisticated lawyers being available in the society in order to sue the principles of the media. Admittedly, this would not only is detrimental for the face of the media in the public but also imposes huge amount money on the shoulder of the source to compensate the targeted person.

In a nutshell, I hold the view that news broadcasting in different forms of media is more accurate than ever before since more obligations have been imposed on this industry and people can notice a evaluate the news.