Do you think it is better for students to work before their university study?

Why?

Use reasons and specific examples to support your choice.

Academic education has either always been extremely unaffordable for some or has been highly competitive for others. In both these contexts, having some sort of work experience whether paid or unpaid could benefit the student prior to their academic start. Therefore, I wholeheartedly agree that students must work before their university study commences.

In the past couple of years, academic tuitions have largely inflated resulting in students having to take out heftier loans year after year resulting in them being in debt from a young age itself. If a student were working on a paid basis, it would be fruitful in terms of alleviating the financial burden of their studies in addition to providing them with extra allowance to permit some degree of independence as well. For example, a student with financial savings could themselves cover bills relating to academics, accommodation, groceries, and other necessities either entirely or at least to some extent reducing the need to take out a bigger loan.

Furthermore, any sort of work experience, particularly something closely related to their field of study, would be massively profitable not only in enabling them to understand academic concepts better but also in standing out from other recently graduated applicants when applying for post-study jobs. For instance, it is highly likely that a food company would hire a quality assurance intern with some working knowledge of food safety than a recent graduate with no experience at all.

To conclude, there are numerous benefits to students undertaking work prior to joining university for studies with the most impactful ones being those of financial security and exposure into corporate environments. This altogether would truly hone a student’s skill set positively and set them apart from their peers.