Due to development and rapid expansion of super markets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that closure of local business will bring about the death of local business.

What extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

As the society is developing, it is obvious that impact of development will be on every part of society. Trent of big super markets has been established and so many shopping malls are being constructed, but, small local markets that run their business with a very small amount of money has been facing difficulties due to the fact that people are inspired by the facilities of super markets. In this discussion I will explain how super markets are becoming a reason for closure of local business.

In beginning, I will explain how super markets are affecting local business. Super markets are owned by big group of companies and they invest heavy amount of money, they put every element to inspire customers. Big companies can survive on minimum rate of profit while local business owner cannot survive because they only have few source of income. Price of product in super market is another factor which is casing reduced sale of small markets, because, sale of super market is huge and they get minimum profit margin on per item but they get more profit due large quantity of sale. On the other side small markets sell their products in local areas and they cannot compete with the prices of super markets as their sale is very limited. Furthermore, the role of electronic media and advertisement has an influential impact on the behavior of customers, because super markets having more projection from media as they expend huge amount on advertisement, while small business owner cannot bear advertisement expense.

I believe that local business is the main source of income for small shop owners and they cannot compete with super markets due to the influence of the trend which I have explained above. We should help to the small businessman to continue their business, but, the help of financial institutions we cannot do anything in this prospect. Banks should take a step ahead and provide loans on minimum mark up to small businessman for the continuation of their business. As customers, it is our responsibility to buy daily routine items from local markets that are so close to our residences, so that they can survive with the presence of super markets.

Concluding my argument I will say that super markets are destroying local markets which leaving no survival for small businessman. If small businessman suffers, it would create more unemployment which unacceptable for our society.