Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with statement? What can be the solution in your opinion?

Traffic jam has become a real trouble for administrative authorities and they are trying really hard to find the solution of this terrible problem. In some big cities, wider roads, flyovers and underpasses has been constructed successfully on the busiest main highways for getting control over this awful situation. In my opinion, there are no other options at the moment except widening roads with construction of flyovers and underpasses. In this essay I would discuss how this problem could be resolved.

First main reason of widening roads is that in last decade the amount of vehicles has increased rapidly and the infrastructure has not been maintained according to the needs of transportation which cause traffic jams on major roads. The most relevant explanation of increase in number of cars and personal transport is the change of life style where everyone wants to have their own transport. Therefore, big cities are now implementing master-plan that includes wider roads, flyovers and underpasses to tackle this issue. Furthermore, cheaper price of cars is another factor of why so many cars are adding up in the system on daily basis and considering this trend, traffic congestion would become more pathetic without rehabilitation of existing roads with wider surface.

Another reason of spacious roads is that other alternatives like installation of new tracks for trains would require an entire new infrastructure that will need a huge amount of investment and time that can be utilized in other projects of human well being. Furthermore, it is the easiest and safest way of getting rid-of traffic jams as it would just need additional space on existing roads and re-construction. In addition, there are several other factors like awareness about traffic rules, fitness of vehicles and traffic police system could also be improved for smooth and easy transportation of vehicles.

Concluding this topic, I would strongly recommend construction of wider roads with support of flyovers and underpasses to make it possible that increasing numbers of vehicles could not become a problem for traffic system.