Due to the rapid development and expansion of supermarkets in some countries many small, local businesses are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local businesses will bring about the death of local communities.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some experts believe that the local traders are closing their trade because of the inability to confront with burgeoning of malls which is ultimately suffered by the residents. However, I do not completely agree with this notion. This essay will narrate my thoughts, the other side and a reasoned conclusion.

To begin with, the main argument for the decline of local people would be loss of money. Since the price of products in any supermarket includes charges for huge power consumption, the final cost would be soaring. For instance, the wooden bed would cost 25% higher in Reliance mall compared to a conventional carpenter. Such dealing affects the humans badly. In addition, it would create inconvenience for poor community. As these commercial edifices are on the out skirts of the city, it not possible to visit regularly over there. Hence, people might not get house hold items when required.

Conversely, it has also proved to be economical while buying items for such commercial centers. Despite of extra charges on the items, when bulk purchases are made the the cost of items has been heavily reduced on account of exemption from dealer. For example, we get 20% discount on purchasing 10 shirts at a time in D-mart. But, such type of shopping is rarely done by the destitute because of their poor economical condition. They can neither afford to shop daily nor can buy in bulk which puts them into a critical issue of their survival.

In conclusion, although the rich locals can afford the malls, it is a curse to the impoverished locals as they face huge financial loss and face issue in their convenience, if the local shops are closed.