Due to the use of computers and mobile phones,letter writing ability is decreasing. To what extent do you agree.

Nowadays, technology has advanced to such an extent that people often use smart gadgets like phones and tablets to communicate rather than write mail. In my opinion, the use of such electronic devices has tremendously brought down the capability to pen down a letter.

On the one hand , in this modern era, people are confined to their own schedules, in such a way that they hardly find time for anything else. One can easily and swiftly communicate with people across the globe through the internet in the smart devices they carry. Video calling facility provides the benefits of both seeing and talking simultaneously even while doing other daily activities. Also, actions which require immediate attention can be tackled more efficiently and effectively because of the speed in task response. Emergency situations in hospitals can be solved quickly through such fast responses.

On the contrary, hand writing a letter asks for quality time and effort. Also, once posted, it needs a certain time frame to arrive at the destination. An anticipated time lag of three to four weeks can be expected for international postal mails. Hence, resulting in time delays to communicate emergencies. Even personal greetings and wishes, which are intended for specific dates, may not make it on the day, causing frustration and sorrow to both the sender and receiver. These aspects contribute to the decreasing popularity of traditional letter writing.

To conclude, there is a vast decline in the way letters used to be hand written because of the increase in use of smart gadgets like cellular phones and laptops. Less time and effort involved are the main benefits electronic devices offer making them more attractive.