E-mail has had a huge impact on proffessional and social communication, but this impact has been negative as well as positive. Do the disadvantages of using e-mail outweigh the advantages?

Email was one of the most powerful technologies that changed the way people over the world connect with others. However, there have been controversies about its benefits and drawbacks. From my perspective, email has been more beneficial to people’s lives in comparison with its disadvantages.

It is true that the rising of email technology has given rise to new problems such as privacy concerns or phishing. Their email address is usually used to register for different online accounts, hence, their email address can be approached by many third parties, which may not be trusted, to exploit personal data. In some cases, users' email addresses may become the target of spamming emails with inappropriate content, or worse, spam emails may consist of risks from viruses, which will harm users’ devices, or their private information can be leaked.

On the bright side, the props of email systems are enormous which makes them so popular and being used in all walks of life. Firstly, it replaced the traditional way of communicating between people. Unlike the traditional mail system, the waiting time to deliver an email is almost immediately, so people can save precious time and enhance their working performance. In addition, several technologies have been provided to improve the security of email systems that prevent risk to users. For example, Google, one of the world's well-known free email services, provide algorithms to identify spam email, that minimise the inconvenience to users.

In conclusion, although email indeed has evident downsides, the upsides of it are obvious that outweigh its drawback.