Earlier, people wore clothes which were related to their culture. But now, people wear same type of clothes all over the world. Is this a positive development or negative development?

Being the most essential modern trend, globalization has caused the fact that people tend to wear casual clothes that are not linked to their culture anymore. In general, this phenomenon seems to be a positive development and gives people several benefits, which will be discussed in this essay.

To begin with, the modern simplification of clothes released many inconveniences which usually were connected with national clothes in the past. For instance, despite the extremely hot climate, wearing many-layered clothes used to be ordinal in oriental and Islamic countries in the past due to religious and other specific reasons. Further, because of globalization, wild-spreading of common dressing culture has caused the establishment of wearing production by many well-known brands all over the world, which influenced positively on the final price for consumers. Moreover, this tendency has extended labour market in these countries and contributed to economic development. For instance, many famous brands have manufacturing in developing countries.

However, some people believe in the negative impact of this phenomenon and tend to emphasize the ethnic identity and countries heritage of national clothes. Also, they consider that the lack of individuality in national clothing always causes loss of unique characteristics of society and may provoke disappearing or vanishing of some cultures. Finally, wearing of the same type of clothes may break social and cultural barriers among populations of different countries.

All in all, in the globalization era, national clothes tend to lose their importance. Being more practical, it seems to be a positive trend and affects the global economy positively and decreases the final price of garments.