Earlier technological developments brought more benefits and changed the lives of ordinary people more than recent developments ever will.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Technological advancements have the power to take the world by storm. It is not wrong to state that the earlier technological advancements had immense benefits for transforming the lives of people than the recent developments ever will. I agree that recent developments are not as effective as the past technological advancements.

Beyond any qualms there are a number of logical reasons to support the view that past developments were more beneficial than the current ones. In the previous era, newspapers, letters, telegrams and television news were the only means of communication worldwide. However, after the development of internet there was a complete revolution in global communication when people could not just converse but could even talk face to face by using video calls. For example, a distant relative living in America could easily communicate with his mother residing in India with the help of internet within a fraction of seconds. This resulted in making the life easier.

On the contrary the recent developments of social media platforms such as twitter, tiktok, facebook or instagram have brought about more risks than benefits. Not only social security of a person is compromised but the people are busy showing off their life on a fake social media platform when most of them are actually depressed and lonely. The suicide rate and patients of depression and bipolar disorder has almost doubled in the recent decade. For instance, people nowadays feel more depressed after comparing their lives with the online photos of their friends who seem to be enjoying their frequent international trips. With the advent of online classes for kids during this Covid-19 outbreak less social interaction and learning and playing in the comfort of their home is likely to increase these numbers of resulting depression among teenagers and kids. Although the life is a lot easier but it is equally depressing and monotonous.

In conclusion, I believe that while the previous advancements were for the overall benefit of the countries worldwide however, the recent developments especially the social media platforms are likely to compromise the social security and public relations of the people and thus prove harmful to everyone.