Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There is currently a contentious argument over international news being taught as a separate subject in schools. While some people believe that the knowledge of events occurring globally is essential for broadening the perspective of kids, however; others believe that it is simply a waste of time and deflects the attention of the children from important issues that needs to be focused in their own country or state. In this essay I will discuss both the views and then conclude my opinion.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of rationale reasons favoring the necessity of international news to be taught as a separate subject in educational institutions. Firstly, kids gain a broad perspective about the events and issues that are occurring globally. For example, global issues such as climate changes due to global warming or spread of pandemic such as COVID-19 that can affect them personally in near future. Moreover, by participating in worldwide media studies they also gain a clear perspective about the latest inventions, new gadgets in market and recent discoveries. For example, artificial intelligence powered robots and discoveries related to new vaccines. Therefore, it is important for kids to have a separate subject for international news in the schools.

On the contrary, others believe that making such a subject compulsory in schools would deflect the interest of kids from the actual issues that are being faced by the people in their own country or state. Furthermore, the social media does not always give the actual picture about the political events occurring in another country and they might start believing in a lie. For example, incidents of mob lynching by spreading fake news on social media platforms have caused much death in India. Therefore, others believe that international news should not be taught as a subject in schools as it might give rise to hatred and controversies among children as they are more vulnerable to believe in fake news and act without thinking a second thought.

In conclusion, I believe that teaching international news has certain benefits such as giving a worldwide perspective, however; it should not be an additional subject in schools. Children are too vulnerable as they might end up believing some fake news and form permanent beliefs and hatred towards a particular religion or political group throughout for life.