Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Advertisement industry is ruling the world today as they are everywhere be it newspapers, mobile phones, televisions, taxis and even on street hoardings. While many people view this ad industry as unnecessary that encourages the people to buy unwanted items but I believe that marketing helps to increase awareness about new innovations in technology that is going to make our life easy and improve the quality of our lives.

Beyond any qualms there are myriad of logical ideas to prove that marketing is a useful tool for both consumers as well as businessmen. If the customer will not get to know about what new products that are available the in the market then they will not gain knowledge about the purpose of use. A salient example is the mechanical hand chopper. As soon as amazon started it's marketing by increasing the number of sponsored ads on their page people began to notice this new product in the market that was capable of changing their everyday life and that too in such low price. this chopper was a promise of a one time cheap investment which was capable to saving both time and money as it did not need even electricity. therefore, paid marketing introduced a creative idea among the buyers that was not only accepted but it also eliminated the daily hassle of chopping and thus proved beneficial in terms of financial gain and time constrains of the consumers.

Furthermore, the advertisements show publicise certain products that were otherwise considered as taboos. Some advertisements increases the awareness of the things which were otherwise useful and necessary but were not comfortably discussed in the society. For instance, sanitary napkins and condoms are such products which are so compulsory and useful in daily life of humans but these were not discussed among the conservative families in certain indian villages as these were considered as a shame for the society. However, advertising on television lifted this curtain and now even the girls in remote villages of india can benefit from such useful products. therefore, they might be published to increase their business but it is a win situation for both the buyers as well as sellers.

In conclusion, I believe that advertising industry might be publishing adds to increase their sales and for their own financial gains but in the process it has resulted in increasing the awareness and utility of these products to improve the everyday life of the people worldwide.