The internet has made knowledge immediately available to people through computers and smartphones all around the world. Much of this knowledge is also free. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this trend

Advent of internet took the world by storm in the end of nineteenth century. Internet was developed to help the human race to move forward and make our lives easier however, it has brought with it many social and personal issues in the lives of people around the world where everyone is addicted to internet and social media.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of logical data to prove the immense benefits of internet for students and adults. Internet search engines such as Google can help to impart knowledge about any subject and thus can help kids to do research and complete their assignments. Moreover, students can now understand better by looking on the practical aspect of their theoretical concepts by watching videos online about any theory of physics they have not understood by studying. For instance, it is not uncommon for teenagers to make Inventions or develop drones and small playing cycles by simply extracting data from you tube.

On the contrary, some people believe that due to ease of access to free content online the kids can now freely watch age inappropriate videos. For example, kids below eighteen can freely access porn site. Moreover, due to the influence of teenage hormones they want to impress their classmates and opposite sex for which they can search or stalk the social media handle of their teachers and other classmates and lose focus from studies. Children get influenced more easily by social media moments on FB and twitter where some people try to spread hatred about a particular community or cultural group by spreading fake videos. For example, recently increasing cases of violence and mob lynching in India were reported when numerous innocent lives were lost just because someone spread some fake news via internet and other people actually believed it and went out on roads and killed others without knowing the authenticity of such fake news.

In conclusion, I believe that although internet has immense benefits for the students of current generation however, it also has certain grave concerns which need to be addressed. Free access to porn sites and other age inappropriate subjects have been found to hamper their childhood innocence and spreading of fake news to arouse hatred towards certain minorities have actually caused destruction of life and property. Will the government try to curb the origin of such hatred? Still remains a question.