Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no special knowledge of the following topic.

Many childhood diseases can now be prevented through the use of vaccines.

Should parents be made by law to immunise their children against common diseases or should individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether the government should mandate the vaccination of children or not. In the following contemplation I will discuss that why I agree that immunization should be made compulsory by law.

Lifelong disability of a child can be caused due to inability of the parents to vaccinate their children. Since certain viruses can affect the central nervous system of the human body therefore it is necessary to develop antibodies against such viruses. For instance, poliomyelitis is a disease which results in lifelong crippling and limb dysfunction in patients who fail to get immunized by polio vaccine. Another reason for mandatory vaccination is the fact that certain viruses can cause communicable diseases. Therefore, spread of diseases would be more rapid and virulent mutation might occur which might prove lethal. Such course of viruses could result in outbreak of certain serious diseases and result in community spread of diseases. For instance, millions of people died from Spanish flu until its vaccine was invented and made compulsory by the government of Spain.

On the contrary, others argue that certain vaccines might cause adverse drug reactions. The decision to immunize the children should remain with the parents so that if vaccine related side effects occur then government should not be blamed . However, I disagree with this viewpoint. Vaccines cannot be marketed without proper clinical trials and checking their safety and efficacy. For instance, typhoid vaccination drive in south Africa resulted in full efficacy and no side effects were found from the vaccine.

In conclusion, I reiterate that vaccination should be made mandatory as it not only guarantees the health of the person receiving the vaccine but also the health of the whole community. Will the parents understand their responsibility? Still remains a question.